

BERRIGAN SHIRE COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting held in the Council Chambers on Wednesday, 17th September, 2014 commencing at 9.15 am.

Min. No. Present: Cr. Bernard Curtin (Mayor)

Crs: John Bruce, Matthew Hannan, Brian Hill, Denis Glanville, Colin Jones, Darryl Morris, Andrea O'Neill, Director of Corporate Services (Matthew Hansen), Development Manager (Laurie Stevens) and General Manager (Rowan Perkins).

<u>Apology</u>

Nil

Declaration of Items of Pecuniary and other Interests

nil

3. MAYOR'S REPORT

AUTHOR: Mayor

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

199 RESOLVED Crs: Hill and Morris that the Mayor's report for the

period October 2013 until September 2014 be noted.

4. GENERAL MANAGER'S ANNUAL REPORT

AUTHOR: General Manager (Rowan Perkins)
STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

200 RESOLVED Crs: Glanville and Morris that the General Manager's

report for the period October 2013 until September 2014 be noted.

5. RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

201 RESOLVED Crs: Hannan and Jones that any ballot required to fill the position of Mayor or Deputy Mayor be a secret ballot conducted under the preferential system.

6. ELECTION OF MAYOR

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Jones and O'Neill that the Election for the position of Mayor of Berrigan Shire for the twelve months ending September, 2015 be conducted.

The Mayor vacated the Chair.

The General Manager took the Chair.

With only one nomination being received, Cr Bernard Curtin was declared elected as Mayor for the period ending September, 2015.

7. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Morris and O'Neill that the Election for the position of Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire for the period ending September 2015 be conducted.

With only one nomination being received, Cr Brian Hill was declared elected as Deputy Mayor for the period ending September 2015.

The Mayor here resumed the Chair.

8. DELEGATES TO COMMITTEES

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: **Good government**

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Glanville and Morris that the Council appoint 204 the following representatives to the various Committees:

1. **Technical Services**

All Councillors with a quorum of 2

Corporate Services 2.

All Councillors with a quorum of 2.

Business and Economic Development 3.

Crs. J Bruce, C Jones, D Morris and B Curtin with a quorum of 2.

Consultative Committee 4.

No representatives appointed.

5. **Barooga Advancement Group**

Crs. A O'Neill and J Bruce

Tocumwal Swimming Pool Committee of Management 6.

Crs. C Jones and D Glanville.

Finley Recreation Reserve Committee of Management 7.

Crs. B Hill and M Hannan

Finley Showground and Sporting Complex Committee of 8.

Management

Crs. B Hill (Chair)

Finley Tidy Towns Committee of Management 9.

Cr B Hill

Finley War Memorial Swimming Pool Committee of 10 Management

Cr B Hill

11. Risk Management Committee

Mayor

- **12. Tocumwal Aerodrome Users Group** Cr C Jones as the Chairperson.
- **13. Tocumwal Aerodrome Users Group** Cr C Jones as the Chairperson.
- **14. Youth Development Committee** Crs. B Hill and M Hannan

Also, that the following Councillors be appointed as Delegates to regional organisations.

1. Central Murray County Council

Crs B Hill and C Jones were elected as the Council's delegates for a 4 year term from September 2012.

2. Delegates to Murray Darling Association.

Crs. B Curtin and C Jones.

3. Rural Fire Service District Liaison Committee

Crs. B Curtin and Director Corporate Services and Cr A O'Neill as alternate delegate.

4. Bush Fire Management Committee

Crs. B Curtin and A O'Neill and Director Technical Services.

5. RAMROC

Mayor, General Manager (designated positions).

6. Public Libraries New South Wales (PLNSW)

Cr D Glanville

7. Western Joint Regional Planning Panel

Cr A O'Neill and B Curtin (alternate)

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9.12 pm.

Page 5 of 5 of Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting held on 17 th September, 2014
These Minutes are signed as a true record in accordance with a resolution of Council passed
on 15 th October, 2014.
on 15 th October, 2014.

Chairman