

Minutes of an Extraordinary Council Meeting held in the Council Chambers on Wednesday, 21st September, 2016 commencing at 9.00 am.

Min. No. Present: Cr. Bernard Curtin, Ross Bodey, John Bruce, Matthew Hannan, Denis Glanville, Colin Jones, Daryll Morris, John Taylor, Director of Corporate Services (Matthew Hansen), Executive Engineer (Matthew Clarke), Development Manager (Laurie Stevens) and General Manager (Rowan Perkins).

1. APOLOGIES

Nil

2. DECLARATION OF ITEMS OF PECUNIARY OR OTHER INTEREST

Cr Daryll Morris declared a Pecuniary Interest in Item 9 – as he is an employee of Central Murray County Council.

3. OATH/AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

The following Councillors here took the Oath of office Crs. Curtin, Bruce, Jones, Glanville, Hannan, Morris and Taylor.

The following Councillors here took the Affirmation of office. Cr Bodey.

4. MAYOR'S REPORT

AUTHOR: Mayor

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Morris and Jones that the Mayor's report for the period October 2015 until September 2016 be noted.

5. GENERAL MANAGER'S ANNUAL REPORT

AUTHOR: General Manager (Rowan Perkins)
STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

207 RESOLVED Crs: Bruce and Jones that the General Manager's report for the period October 2015 until September 2016 be noted.

6. RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

208 RESOLVED Crs: Jones and Morris that any ballot required to fill the position of Mayor or Deputy Mayor be a secret ballot conducted under the preferential system.

Cr. Curtin vacated the Chair. The General Manager took the Chair.

7. ELECTION OF MAYOR

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

209 RESOLVED Crs: Jones and Morris that any ballot required to fill the position of Mayor or Deputy Mayor be a secret ballot conducted under the preferential system.

A secret ballot was here conducted for the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Crs Glanville and Hannan articulated their ambitions for the role of Mayor and their relevant skills and interest in the role.

Following the secret ballot Cr. Hannan had 4 votes and Cr Glanville had 4 votes.

Cr Hannan was drawn from the ballot box by Mr. Fred Cuthbert.

Cr Hannan was declared elected to the position of Mayor of Berrigan Shire for the two years ending September, 2018.

8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Bruce and Glanville that the Election for the position of Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire for the period ending September 2018 be conducted.

As Cr Morris was the only nominee for the position of Deputy Mayor the General Manager declared him elected for the position of Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire for the period ending September 2018.

The Mayor assumed the Chair and acknowledged the service of Cr Curtin as the past Mayor.

9. DELEGATES TO COMMITTEES

AUTHOR: General Manager

STRATEGIC OUTCOME: Good government

STRATEGIC OBJECTIVE: 2.2 Ensure effective governance

by Council of Council operations

and reporting

RESOLVED Crs: Bruce and Glanville that the Council appoint the following delegates to the following various Committees and that Finley Showground Committee of Management delegate not be appointed the Chair.

1. Technical Services

All Councillors with a quorum of 2

2. Corporate Services

All Councillors with a quorum of 2.

3. Business and Economic Development

Crs. J Bruce, C Jones, Taylor, Bodey, with a quorum of 2.

4. Barooga Advancement Group

Crs. J Taylor and J Bruce

5. Tocumwal Swimming Pool Committee of Management Crs. C Jones and D Glanville.

6. Finley Recreation Reserve Committee of Management Crs. J Taylor and M Hannan

7. Finley Showground and Sporting Complex Committee of Management

Crs. D Morris

8. Finley War Memorial Swimming Pool Committee of Management

Cr M Hannan

9. Risk Management Committee

Mayor

10. Tocumwal Aerodrome Users Group

Cr C Jones as the Chairperson.

11. Youth Development Committee

Crs. D Glanville (Chair) and J Taylor

Also, that the following Councillors were appointed as Delegates to regional organisations.

Cr Morris declared a pecuniary interest and left the meeting at 9.40 am.

1. Central Murray County Council

Crs J Bruce and C Jones were elected as the Council's delegates for a 4 year term from September 2016.

Cr Morris returned to the Chamber at 9.43 am.

2. Delegates to Murray Darling Association.

Crs. R Bodey and C Jones.

3. Rural Fire Service District Liaison Committee

Crs. B Curtin and Director Corporate Services and Cr M Hannan as alternate delegate.

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council meeting held in the Council Chambe	ers
on Wednesday, 21 st September, 2016.	

- **4.** Bush Fire Management Committee
 Crs. B Curtin, M Hannan and Director Technical Services.
- RAMROC
 Mayor, General Manager (designated positions).
- 6. Public Libraries New South Wales (PLNSW)
 Cr D Glanville
- 7. Western Joint Regional Planning Panel Cr R Bodey and B Curtin (alternate)

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9.46 am.

Page 5 of 5 of Minutes of Council Meeting held on 21st September, 20156 These Minutes are signed as a true record in accordance with a resolution of Council passed on 12th October, 2016.