

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

Held on Wednesday 18 September, 2024 at 9:00am

Bangerang Room, 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan



Minutes



Extraordinary Council Meeting

Wednesday 18 September, 2024

MINUTES

The Ordinary Council Meeting of the Shire of Berrigan held in the Council Chambers, 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan, on Wednesday 18 September, 2024 when the following business was considered:-

ITEMS OF BUSINESS

1	OPENING (OF MEETING	4
2	ACKNOWL	EDGEMENT OF COUNTRY	4
3	APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE OR ATTENDANCE VIA AUDIO- VISUAL LINK BY COUNCILLORS		5
	3.1	Apologies/Leave of Absence	5
	3.2	Applications for Leave of Absence	5
	3.3	Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link	5
6	REPORTS T	O COUNCIL	6
JUST	ICE OF THE	PEACE MRS ANNE NEVINS ATTENDED THE MEETING TO WITNES THE OATH	
	AND AFFIR	MATION OF OFFICE	6
	AND AFFIR	MATION OF OFFICE Oath - Affirmation of Office	
			6
	8.1	Oath - Affirmation of Office	6 7
	8.1 8.3	Oath - Affirmation of Office	6 7
	8.1 8.3 8.4	Oath - Affirmation of Office Election of Mayor Election of Deputy Mayor	6 7 7
	8.1 8.3 8.4 8.5	Oath - Affirmation of Office Election of Mayor Election of Deputy Mayor Delegates to committees	6 7 7 8

11 CONCLUSION OF MEETING...... 8



Present:

Councillors:

Julia Cornwell McKean, Renee Paine, Matthew Hannan, Renee Brooker, John Stringer, Katie Ngatokoa and Catherine Healy.

The following staff were also in attendance:

Karina Ewer (Chief Executive Officer), Matthew Hansen (Deputy CEO) and Keelan McDonald (Executive Assistant).

1 OPENING OF MEETING

The Council opened its meeting at 9:01am.

Karina Ewer (Chief Executive Officer) read the following statement:

In the spirit of open, accessible and transparent government, Berrigan Shire Council's meetings are audio recorded. By speaking at a Council Meeting, members of the public agree to being recorded. Berrigan Shire Council accepts no liability for any defamatory, discriminatory or offensive remarks or gestures that are made during the course of the Council Meeting. Opinions expressed or statements made by individuals are the opinions or statements of those individuals and do not imply any form of endorsement by Berrigan Shire Council.

Confidential matters of Council will not be audio recorded.

Recordings are protected by copyright and owned by Berrigan Shire Council. No part may be copied, recorded, reproduced or transmitted without the prior written consent of the Chief Executive Officer. Any recording is not, and shall not, be taken to be an official record of Berrigan Shire Council meetings or the discussion depicted therein. Only the official minutes may be relied upon as an official record of the meeting.

An audio recording of the Council Meeting will be taken for administrative and minute preparation purposes only and is provided to the public for listening purposes to support Council's statutory obligations.

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Karina Ewer, Chief Executive Officer made an Acknowledgement of Country with the following statement:

"Berrigan Shire Council acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands on which we live and thrive. We pay our respects to their elders; past, present and emerging.



The peoples of these great Nations, their spirits and ancestors will always remain with our waterways and lands."

STATEMENT OF ETHICAL OBLIGATIONS

In accordance with section 233A of the Local Government Act 1993, the Mayor and Councillors are bound by Oath or Affirmation of Office made at the start of the Council term, to undertake their civic duties in the best interests of the people of the Berrigan Shire Council. They must faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in them under the Local Government Act 1993 or any other Act, to the best of their ability and judgement.

DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

Pursuant to the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993, the Berrigan Shire Council Code of Meeting Practice and the Berrigan Shire Council Code of Conduct,

Councillors are required to disclose and manage both pecuniary and non-pecuniary interests in any matter on the agenda for this meeting. In both cases, the nature of the interest must be disclosed.

- 3 APOLOGIES AND APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE OR ATTENDANCE VIA AUDIO-VISUAL LINK BY COUNCILLORS
- 3.1 Apologies/Leave of Absence

Nil

3.2 Applications for Leave of Absence

Nil

3.3 Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link

Nil



4 REPORTS TO COUNCIL

Justice of the Peace Mrs Anne Nevins attended the meeting to witnes the Oath and Affirmation of Office.

8.1 Oath - Affirmation of Office

Recommendation

That the Chief Executive Officer take the Oath / Affirmation of Office for Councillors.

The following Councillors here took the Oath of office:

Katie Ngatakoa

The following Councillors here took the Affirmation of office:

Julia Cornwell McKean

John Stringer

Catherine Healy

Matthew Hannan

Renee Paine

Renee Brooker

In her position as Returning Officer, the Chief Executive Officer advised that, when nominations closed at 9am, 18 September 2024, only one nomination for Mayor and one nomination for Deputy Mayor had been lodged.

Therefore, no election was necessary.



8.3 Election of Mayor

The Returning Officer declared Cr Julia Cornwell McKean has been elected to the position of Mayor of Berrigan Shire and that Mayor Cornwell McKean hold the position for two years ending September 2026.

8.4 Election of Deputy Mayor

The Returning Officer declared Cr Renee Paine has been elected to the position of Deputy Mayor of Berrigan Shire and that Deputy Mayor Paine hold the position for two years ending September 2026.

8.5 Delegates to committees

Resolved OCM 205/24

Moved: Cr Katie Ngatakoa Seconded: Cr Renee Paine

That Council appoint the following Councillors to the positions below

- 1. Internal committees
 - CEO Remuneration Committee Mayor, Cr Brooker, Cr Paine and Cr Ngatakoa,
 - Audit Risk and Improvement Committee Cr Paine, and
 - Reconciliation Working Group Cr Healy.
- 2. Delegates to volunteer committee of Council established under s355 of the *Local Government Act 1993*
 - Cr Cornwell McKean to attend the Barooga Recreation Reserve Committee of Management,
 - Cr Stringer to attend the Tocumwal Foreshore Committee of Management,
 - Cr Healy to attend the Finley Showground and Sporting Complex Committee of Management.
- 3. Delegates to external bodies and organisations
 - Cr Brooker to attend the Rural Fire Service District Liaison Committee,
 - Cr Stringer to attend the Bush Fire Management Committee,
 - The Mayor and CEO to attend the RAMJO meetings with the Deputy Mayor to be nominated as proxy for the Mayor,
 - Cr Paine to attend the Berrigan Shire Traffic Committee,
 - Mayor Julia Cornwell McKean to attend the Western Joint Regional Planning Panel,



- Cr Stringer to attend the Berrigan Shire Dementia Alliance and
- Cr Brooker to attend the Riverina Regional Libraries.

CARRIED

8.6 Managing casual vacancies

This report was for information only.

8.7 By-election - 23 November 2024

This report was for information only.

5 CONCLUSION OF MEETING

The next Ordinary Council Meeting will be held on 16 October 2024 from 9:00am in the Council Chambers, 56 Chanter Street, Berrigan.

There being no further business the Mayor, Cr Julia Cornwell McKean closed the meeting at 9:17am.